Ghana Education News > Blog > Sport > 4 trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

4 trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

4 trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

There will be 4 trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup when the world’s best 32 teams converge to play football.


What are the enviable titles or trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup?

They are the World Cup trophy, the Golden Boot, the Golden Ball and the Golden Glove

#1. The World Cup trophy

4 trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup – World Cup Trophy

While 32 countries eye the coveted FIFA world CUP Trophy, there will also be three more enviable titles at stake.

4 trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

Brazil has won the world cup five times, a record no other nation has come near while they have made it to all FIFA world cups. Germany and Italy have also won it four times each and Argentina, France, and inaugural winner Uruguay have also won it for a record three times. England and Spain have laid their hands on the trophy for just once.


#2. Golden Boot for the best striker

Strikers or goal poachers at the world cup will battle it out for the Golden Boot.

4 trophies to be won at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup – Golden Boot.

Previous winners and goals scored

1930: Guillermo Stabile (Argentina) – eight goals

1934: Oldrich Nejedly (Czech Republic) – five goals

1938: Leonidas (Brazil) – seven goals

1950: Ademir (Brazil) – eight goals

1954: Sandor Kocsis (Hungary) – 11 goals

1958: Just Fontaine (France) – 13 goals

1962: Florian Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Garrincha (Brazil) – four goals

1966: Eusebio (Portugal) – six goals

1970: Gerd Muller (Germany) – 10 goals

1974: Grzegorz Lato (Poland) – seven goals

See also  Argentina's Messi Says That The Final Will Be His Last Game

1978: Mario Kempes (Argentina) – six goals

1982: Paolo Rossi (Italy) – six goals

1986: Gary Lineker (England) – six goals

1990: Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) – six goals

1994: Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) – six goals

1998: Davor Suker (Croatia) – six goals

2002: Ronaldo (Brazil) – eight goals

2006: Miroslav Klose (Germany) – five goals

2010: Thomas Muller (Germany) – five goals

2014: James Rodríguez (Colombia) – six goals

2018: Harry Kane (England) – six goals

#3. Golden Glove for the best goalkeeper

Goalkeepers will face each other and hope to lay their hand on the Golden Glove. Which pair of gloves will prove to be the safest pair at Qatar 2022? 


READ: Ghana to announce 26-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

World Cup Golden Glove winners

  • 1930 – Enrique Ballestrero (Uruguay)
  • 1934 – Ricardo Zamora (Spain)
  • 1938 – Frantisek Planicka (Czechoslovakia)
  • 1950 – Roque Maspoli (Uruguay)
  • 1954 – Gyula Grosics (Hungary)
  • 1958 – Harry Gregg (Northern Ireland)
  • 1962 – Viliam Schrojf (Czechoslovakia)
  • 1966 – Gordon Banks (England)
  • 1970 – Ladislao Mazurkiewicz (Uruguay)
  • 1974 – Sepp Maier (West Germany)
  • 1978 – Ubaldo Fillol (Argentina)
  • 1982 – Dino Zoff (Italy)
  • 1986 – Jean-Marie Pfaff (Belgium)
  • 1990 – Luis Gabelo Conejo (Costa Rica), Sergio Goycochea (Argentina)
  • 1994 – Michel Preud’homme (Belgium)
  • 1998 – Fabien Barthez (France)
  • 2002 – Oliver Kahn (Germany)
  • 2006 – Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
  • 2010 – Iker Casillas (Spain)
  • 2014 – Manuel Neuer (Germany)
  • 2018 – Thibaut Courtois (Belgium)
See also  Watch Spain vs Switzerland Live From Anywhere

Oliver Kahn is the only player to win both the Golden Glove and the Golden Ball at a FIFA World Cup.

#4. Golden Ball for the best player

The ‘Golden Ball Award’ is presented to the outstanding player at each FIFA World Cup finals.

The winner is selected from a shortlist drawn up by the FIFA technical committee, as voted by representatives of the media.

The winner has come from Brazil, 7 times.

READ: Ghana’s Final 26-man Squad for Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

World Cup Best Players (Golden Ball)
Year Golden Ball Winner Country
2018 Luka Modric Croatia
2014 Lionel Messi Argentina
2010 Diego Forlán Uruguay
2006 Zinedine Zidane France

The final trophy will be the best player of the tournament who will go home with the Golden Ball. The Golden Ball award is presented to the best player at each FIFA World Cup finals, and who gets to take it?



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *