Hearts of Oak SC is 112 years today

Hearts of Oak is 112 years hurray!!

Today 11th November,2023 marks exactly 112 years since the glorious Accra Hearts of Oak was formed. Hearts of Oak football club with a nicknamed phobia is the long existing and successful football club in Ghana.

For a century now, Accra Hearts of Oak has shown a spectacular performance in Africa football and the world at large.

Hearts of Oak won the Guggisberg Shield cup in 1922, a tournament which was organized by then Governor of Gold Coast,Sir Gordon Guggisberg.

The club won the competition twelve (12)times between 1922 and 1954. On 12th February,2001,Ghana giants Hearts of Oak was rated as the 8th best club in the world ahead of some of Europe’s big clubs such as Chelsea and Arsenal and Paris Saint-Germain F.C.

Phobia reached its peak, when CNN/World Soccer rated them the 8th best club in its weekly chart, rubbing shoulders with giants such as Real Madrid.

This happened a day after the club had beaten Zamalek of Egypt by 2-0 to win the only Super Cup by a Ghanaian side at the Kumasi Sports Stadium

In February 1969, during an African tour, Pelé-led Santos FC were held to a (2-2) draw by Ghana’s Accra Hearts of Oak SC at Accra Sports Stadium in an international friendly.

On May 9, 2001, 127 people died in a disaster at Accra Sports Stadium during a rival match against Asante Kotoka Soccer Club. This was the saddest event in the history of the team

Hearts of Oak is 112 years today


Sammy Adjei,Chris Briant,Ofei Ansah,Jacob Netteh,Addo Odametey,Adolf Armah,Shamo Quaye,Emmanuel Osei Kuffour,Ishmael Addo,Mohammed Polo,Ofei Dodoo among others are some of the legends of the club

Head Coaches of Hearts of Oak from 1998 till date

Cecil Jones Attuquayefio (1998–2001)

Herbert Addo (2001–2003)

Ernst Middendorp (2004)

Cecil Jones Attuquayefio (2004)

Archibald Lamptey (2004–2005)

Emmanuel Ofei Ansah (2005)

Eyal Lahman (2008)

Kosta Papić (2008–2009)

Nebojša Vučićević (2011–12)

Charles Kwasi Akonnor (2012)

David Duncan (2012–2013)

Mohammed Ahmed

Herbert Addo (2014–2015)

Kenichi Yatsuhashi (2015–2016)

Sérgio Traguil (2016 –2016)

Frank Nuttall (2017–2018)

Henry Wellington Lamptey (2018)

Seth Hoffmann (2018)

Kim Grant (2018–2019)

Edward Nii Odoom (2020)

Kosta Papić (2020–2021)

Samuel Nii Noi (Interim) (2021)

Samuel Boadu (2021–2022)

Slavko Matic (2022–date)

Phobia has won the Ghana Premier League 21 times ,F.A cups 12 and others.

Currently the team is owned by people who have bought shares in the team. The Chairman of the club is Togbe Afede who manages the affairs of the club.

Phobia remains the only club in Ghana and West Africa at large to have won continental treble.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *