How to Renew Your Driver’s License in South Carolina

How to Renew Your Driver's License in South Carolina

Renew your South Carolina Drivers license. Prepare all your DMV info. Get all the forms, rules and steps required for your SC drivers license renewal. You may renew your South Carolina license by going In Person or by submitting your paperwork and application via Mail. If you select to visit a south carolina dmv office, you’ll need to show the correct documents and be prepared to pass all applicable tests.

Renewing by mail is an option only if you meet all the eligibility requirements. We’ll discuss those in our renew by mail section. Your final option is to take advantage of our free service, by signing up with our website in order to receive your renewal checklist. We’ll supply you with all of the required rules, forms, and procedures. Please continue reading below to get started with your South Carolina license renewal.

South Carolina Drivers License Renewal – SC

How to Renew Your Driver's License in South Carolina


South Carolina Drivers License Renewal Information

Expiration Date

Non commercial regular Class D licenses in the Palmetto State are valid for either five (5) years or ten (10) years. Let’s break this down a little further.

  • U.S. Citizens who are between 17 years and 64 years of age will receive a 10 year license.
  • If you are younger than 17 or older than 64 you will receive a 5 year license.
  • Every South Carolina driver that renews their license by mail, will receive a 5 year license.

Your expiration date will always fall on your birth day. If you are not sure of your expiration, just check your license card, as it will give you the exact expiration date.

Renewal Notice

It’s possible that the SC DMV will mail you a renewal reminder to the mailing address on file for you. If you do receive one, it will contain your renewal options. You must always inform the DMV of any address changes so that you’ll be able to receive important information about your driver’s license. Please remember that ultimately, it’s your responsibility to not allow your license to expire. If you did not receive a notice, please read below and decide on your best renewal options.

When To Renew

You should never allow your license to expire. Make sure to follow the guidelines provided below and prepare to have all your documents with you at renewal time. When renewing by mail, you must send your application fifteen (15) days before your expiration date. If you have any doubt about your renewal time frame, please call the South Carolina DMV at (803) 896-5000, on business days 8:30AM – 5:00PM.

Expired South Carolina License

If you let your license expire, you’ll run the risk of getting a ticket if caught by a law enforcement officer. If you’ve forgotten or have been too busy to renew before your expiration, try not to allow more than nine (9) months to pass after your expiration date. If more than 9 months have passed you will not be allowed to renew by mail. Your only option is to show up In Person at a DMV office.

A suspended license will cause you to lose your driving privileges. The most common violations that will result in a suspension include DUI’s (driving under the influence), driving on a suspended license, driving without proof of insurance, littering from inside your vehicle, careless driving, injuring a pedestrian, or ignoring to pay a traffic fine. If your suspension is due to a different reason, and you would like to know more information, please call the DMV at (803) 896-5000.

Following the suspension period, you must pay your reinstatement fee. The fees currently start at $100.00. You’ll also be required to retake all tests. The majority of times, your insurance will increase after a suspension. It’s best if you shop for the best insurance quotes by using our website.

Renew South Carolina Drivers License Online

Drivers many not currently renew online. You were able to do this in the past, but a new law requires that all drivers physically either take a vision test at the DMV office, or submit a vision eye certification test. Your other two alternatives are to go In Person or to apply by Mail (must meet the requirements).

South Carolina Drivers License Renew by Mail

As long as you meet the requirements below, you may continue with this option:

Requirements to Renew By Mail

  • You cannot renew by mail with a license that expired over nine (9) months ago.
  • You cannot renew by mail if you have a commercial driver’s license.
  • During the past two (2) years you must not have accumulated more than five (5) points on your driving record.
  • If your license is currently serving a suspension or is about to be suspended, you cannot use this method.
  • You can only renew by mail every other cycle. If you last renewed online or by mail, you must go In Person.
  • You must be a U.S. Citizen with a social security number.
  • You must show proof of car insurance.
  • Use this option only if you have a minimum of fifteen (15) business days before the expiration of your license.
  • You will only be issued a five (5) year license by mail. If you would like a ten (10) year license, you must be younger than sixty five (65) and you must go In Person.


  1. Complete and print the DL-63 Renewal Form.
    • The form will require you to print your name, address, social security number, birth date, gender, height, weight and race.
    • The form will also ask you to enter your current insurance company name.
  2. You must receive a vision test from an eye care professional. He or she must give you a certificate which you must mail in with the application. Note: The vision test must not be older than twelve (12) months.
  3. Include payment for the cost of $12.50 for your five (5) year license. Note: Make payment to S. C. Department of Motor Vehicles. The only forms of payment are Check or Money Order.
  4. Mail your renewal form (at least 15 business days before your expiration date), along with your vision certificate, and payment to the following address:S. C. Department of Motor Vehicles
    Post Office Box 1498

    Blythewood, South Carolina 29016-0035

You will receive your renewed license by mail in no later than 15 business days. The DMV will use the last picture and signature that was on file for you. If you have not received your license by 3 weeks time, please contact the SC DMV at:

Phone: (803) 896-5000 . Business days between 8:30AM – 5:00PM
By Email:

South Carolina Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers

If you are currently serving in the U.S. military and are on active duty outside the state, you’ll need to renew your license by mail, in the same manner as all other South Carolina drivers. Please visit and follow the instructions in the Renew By Mail section.

Renew South Carolina Drivers License In Person

If you do not meet the by Mail requirements your only option is to visit a DMV office.

Requirements to Renew In Person

  • You must be a U.S. Citizen.
  • You must show proof of car insurance.
  • If you last renewed by mail, you must renew in person.
  • If more than nine (9) months have passed since your license expired, this would be your only option.


READ ALSO:How parents can spot teacher s*xual advances toward children

  1. Go to your closest south carolina dmv office.
  2. You will need to pass a Vision Test. If you prefer you can have your own eye doctor perform the test. You must bring a vision certificate with you, and it cannot be older than twelve (12) months.
  3. Take and pass a Written Test if and only if during the past two (2) years, you have accumulated more than five (5) points on your driving record.
  4. Show your car insurance documents.
  5. Bring money (Check or Money Order) to pay for the renewal fee.
    • A 10 year license costs $25.00Note: You must be younger than sixty five (65) years of age to get a 10 yr license.
    • A 5 years license costs $12.50.

You will be handed your newly renewed license at the DMV office.


South Carolina Drivers License Renewal Documents

You are required to bring the following documents when processing a renewal.

List of Documents

  • Bring your expiring drivers license (if you don’t have it, it’s not required).
  • Bring your Proof of Financial Responsibility Documents (insurance).

Renew South Carolina Drivers License In Person for Non US Citizens

This is your only option if you are not a U.S. Citizen.

A MUST READ: Marking of 2023 BECE scripts starts today: Know the marking process

Requirements to Renew In Person

  • You may not go to just any DMV office. You must visit the offices which are specifically set up for non U.S. Citizens.
  • You may only apply for a five (5) year license.


  1. There are only seventeen (17) DMV offices that you may visit. Please see the list Here.
  2. You will need to pass a Vision Test or bring your own vision certificate (cannot be older than 12 months) from an eye care specialist.
  3. Take and pass a Written Test if and only if during the past two (2) years, you have accumulated more than 5 points on your driving record.
  4. Bring money (Check or Money Order) to pay for the $12.50 renewal fee (license will be valid for 5 years).
  5. Bring the proper identification documents. You will need to show:
    • Proof of Identity, Birth Date and Birth Place.
    • Proof of Legal Presence.
    • If you have a Social Security number you must show your card. Otherwise please ask the to create a letter which explains that you do not have work authorization.
    • Proof of South Carolina Residency.
    • Show your Proof of Car Insurance.
    • For a complete list of documents, download the list here. Download the List Here.

You will be handed your newly renewed license at the DMV office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *