List of Political Parties In Ghana

List of Political Parties In Ghana

Ghana is one of the democratic nations in the world with a multi-party political system. Let’s take a look at the list of political parties in Ghana.

1. All People’s Congress (APC)

2. Convention People’s Party (CPP)

3. Democratic Freedom Party (DFP)

4. Democratic People’s Party (DPP)

5. Eagle Party (EP)

6. Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP)

7. Ghana Democratic Republican Party (GDRP)

South Africa Adds Ghana To The E-Visa List

8. Ghana National Party (GNP)

9. Ghana Freedom Party (GFP)

10. Ghana Union Movement (GUM)

11. Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG)

12. National Democratic Congress (NDC)

13. National Democratic Party (NDP)

14. New Patriotic Party (NPP)

15. National Reform Party (NRP)

16. New Vision Party (NVP)

17. People’s National Convention (PNC)

18. Progressive People’s Party (PPP)

19. People’s Action Party (PAP)

20. People’s Destiny Party (PDP)

Make TVET Affordable Accessible For Ghanaian Youth

21. Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD)

22. United Ghana Movement (UGM)

23. United Development System Party(UDSP)

24. United Renaissance Party (URP)

25. United Front Party (UFP)

26. United Democratic Party (UDP)

27. United Progressive Party (UPP)

28. Yes People’s Party (YPP)

29. Power Unity Party (PUP)

There are two dominant political parties: the National Democratic Congress and the New Patriotic Party. It is extremely difficult for anyone to achieve electoral success under the banner of any other party.

The 29 political parties are being regulated under the Political Parties Act 574 passed in 2000. This spells out how political parties may be founded, registered and operated. It also specifies how political parties may be funded in Ghana. The Electoral Commission of Ghana see to it that the parties in Ghana are well regulated.

Features of Ghana’s Electoral System

Ghana’s Electoral System has the following features:

  • Universal adult suffrage for citizens who are 18 years or older
  • Continuous registration of voters
  • Non-compulsory/voluntary participation in registration of electors and voting
  • Where you register is where you vote
  • Secret ballot
  • Regulation of political parties by Electoral Commission (EC)
  • Political parties as corporate entities
  • Partisan politics at national level elections
  • Non-partisan politics at local level elections
  • Presidential and parliamentary elections held on the same day
  • No minimum voter turnout required for presidential and parliamentary elections
  • Presidential election requires the winner to obtain more than 50% of valid votes cast
  • A run-off election is required in case no winner emerges on the first ballot in the presidential election
  • Simple majority/First-past-the-post (FPTP) electoral formula determines the winner in the parliamentary election
  • Permanent Election Management Body (EMB), EC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *