Ghana Education News > Blog > Politics > NPP Reacts To Boakye Agyarko’s Withdrawal From Flagbearer Run-off

NPP Reacts To Boakye Agyarko’s Withdrawal From Flagbearer Run-off

The New Patriotic Party(NPP) has reacted to Boakye Agyarko’s Withdrawal from the Flagbearer run-off which was scheduled for Saturday, 2nd September, 2023.

In a letter signed by the chairman of the Presidential election committee, Rt. Hon. Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye, NPP acknowledged what Boakye Agyarko did.

Following his resignation, NPP has revealed the five individuals who will battle each other on 4th November, 2023 for the flag bearer position.

They include;

  1. Mahamudu Bawumia
  2. Ken Ohene Agyapong
  3. Alan John Kwadwo Kyeremanten
  4. Owusu Afriyie Akoto
  5. Francis Addai Nimoh


The NPP recently conducted a super delegates conference to reduce its flagbearer hopefuls from ten to five. In the results, Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia emerged victorious with 629 votes (68.15%), followed by Assin Central MP Kennedy Agyapong with 132 votes (14.30%), and former Trade Minister Alan Kyerematen in third place with 95 votes (10.29%). Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto secured fourth place with 36 votes (3.90%).

See also  Benefits Of Being The President Of Ghana

WASSCE 2023: Food and Nutrition Projected Questions

Following the super delegates conference, Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai-Nimoh were tied with nine (9) votes each in the NPP presidential race, leading to the decision for a run-off on September 2.

The NPP’s National Council, responsible for making decisions on party matters, determined that only their members would vote in the upcoming run-off, citing efficiency and cost-saving measures.

The run-off is set to take place at the party’s headquarters in Asylum Down, Accra.

See also  NPP Opens Sunyani East Parliamentary Primary Nominations

However, Boakye Agyarko staunchly disagrees with this new process, asserting that it violates the party’s constitution. He argued, “It is totally unconstitutional that a sub-section (about 135 National Council members) of the Special Electoral College should assume the function on behalf of the 955 delegates who voted in the first round.”

Agyarko expressed strong reservations about the changes to the election process, asserting that they are detrimental to fair play and justice. He concluded by calling it “an unconstitutional act which I cannot allow myself to be associated with.”

READ ALSO: 2023 WASSCE Biology: Final Projected Topics And Questions

This unexpected development has added further intrigue to the NPP’s presidential race, as the party grapples with the logistics and legality of conducting the run-off election.

See also  Top NPP Executive Exposed Big Time For Lying

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *